NTR University

Dr YSR University of Health Sciences previously known as Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, was established on November 01, 1986, in Andhra Pradesh, India.

Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences

A total number of 184 colleges are affiliated with the Dr. YSR University of Health Sciences and they offer diverse medical courses recognized by statutory bodies like the Medical Council of India.

Name Dr. YSR University of Health Sciences
Formerly Known As Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences
Type Public
Established 1st November 1986
Location Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, India
Chancellor Governor of Andhra Pradesh
Vice-Chancellor Dr. Korukonda Babji
Motto Vaidyo nārāyaṇo hariḥ (The physician is a manifestation of Lord Narayana)
Campus Urban
Affiliations University Grants Commission (India)
Establishment History University of Health Sciences in 1986, renamed in 1998 as Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, and further renamed as Dr. YSR University of Health Sciences in September 2022
Facilities Library, computer centre, guest house, biometric-based electronic attendance system
Admission Criteria EAMCET rank for certain courses, NEET rank for MBBS and BDS
Degrees Offered Various in modern medicine, dental surgery, nursing, Ayurveda, homoeopathy, Unani, naturopathy, physiotherapy, medical laboratory technology, and more
Number of Affiliated Colleges From 27 at establishment to 184
Recognition Degrees recognized by professional statutory bodies such as Medical Council of India, Dental Council of India, etc.
Publications Quarterly multi-disciplinary Journal of Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences
Vice-Chancellors Multiple since establishment, with Pigilam Syama Prasad serving as of 2020
Website https://drysr.uhsap.in/

The University is located in Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, India, like other credible universities of health sciences, it is also affiliated with UGC (University Grant Commission), currently, Dr Korukonda Babji is serving as Vice-Chancellor.

The university’s motto is Vaidyo nārāyaṇo hariḥ i.e. The physician is a manifestation of Lord Narayana

Important Link

Official Website: http://drysruhs.edu.in/index.html

Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences Admission & Course

Students can get admission to its affiliated colleges for allied paramedics and pharma courses based on their performance in the EAMCET (Engineering Agricultural and Medical Common Entrance Test), a state-level entrance exam, which is held by APSCHE.

Like other medical and dental colleges of India, to get admission to Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery or Bachelor’s of Dental Surgery, it is mandatory to clear the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (Undergraduate), which is held by the National Testing Agency, 

You may check the complete list of medical and dental colleges from below.

Medical Colleges – 


  • Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam
  • Sri Venkateswara Medical College, Tirupati
  • Government Medical College, Srikakulam
  • Government Medical College, Anantapur
  • Guntur Medical College, Guntur
  • Kurnool Medical College, Kurnool
  • Government Medical College, Ongole
  • Government Medical College, Kadapa
  • Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada
  • Siddhartha Medical College, Vijayawada
  • A. C. Subba Reddy Government Medical College, Nellore
  • SVIMS Sri Padmavathi Medical College for Women, Tirupati
  • Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences, Tirupati
  • Government Medical College, Vizianagaram
  • Government Medical College, Rajamahendravaram
  • Government Medical College, Eluru
  • Government Medical College, Machilipatnam
  • Government Medical College, Nandyala


  • Alluri Sitarama Raju Academy of Medical Sciences, Eluru
  • Apollo Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Murukambattu, Chittoor
  • Fatima Institute of Medical Sciences, Kadapa
  • Gayatri Vidya Parishad Institute of Health Care and Medical Technology, Visakhapatnam
  • GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research (GIMSR), Visakhapatnam
  • G.S.L. Medical College, Rajamahendravaram
  • Great Eastern Medical School and Hospital, Srikakulam
  • Katuri Medical College and Hospital, Guntur
  • Konaseema Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Foundation, Amalapuram
  • Maharaja Institute of Medical Sciences, Vizianagaram
  • Narayana Medical College, Nellore
  • Nimra Institute of Medical Sciences, Ibrahimpatnam, Krishna district
  • NRI Institute of Medical Sciences, Visakhapatnam
  • NRI Medical College, Guntur
  • P. B. Siddhartha College of Arts and Science, Vijayawada
  • P.E.S. Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Kuppam
  • Dr. Pinnammaneni Siddhartha Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Foundation, Vijayawada
  • Santhi Ram Medical College, Nandyal
  • Viswabharathi Medical College, Kurnool
  • Sri Balaji Medical College, Renugunta

Dental Colleges – 


  • Government Dental College, Vijayawada
  • Government Dental College and Hospital, Kadapa


  • Sibar Institute of Dental Sciences, Takkillapadu, Guntur
  • GITAM Dental College, Rushi Konda, Visakhapatnam
  • St. Joseph Dental College, Duggirala, Eluru, W.G.Dist
  • Vishnu Dental College, Vishnupuram, Bheemavaram, W.G.Dist.
  • Sree Sai Dental College Research Institute, Chapuram, Srikakulam.
  • Drs. Sudha and Nageswara Rao Institute of Dental Sciences, Chinnaoutapalli, Krishna (Dist.)
  • Lenora Institute of Dental Sciences, Rajamahendravaram (Non-Minority)
  • Anil Neerukonda Inst. Of Dental Sciences, Visakhapatnam
  • GSL Dental College Hospital, NH-16, Lakshmipuram, Rajmahendravaram.
  • Konaseema Institute of Dental Sciences, Amalapuram
  • Care Dental College, Guntur, Pottur, NH5, Guntur
  • CKS Teja Institute of Dental Sciences Research, Renigunta Road, Tirupathi
  • Narayana Dental College, Chintareddypalem, Nellore
  • G. Pulla Reddy Dental College Hospital, Kurnool

The university offers a wide range of graduate and postgraduate degrees, diploma, and super-specialty courses in various fields of healthcare. Some of the courses include:

  • Modern Medicine (graduate and postgraduate degrees)
  • Dental Surgery (graduate and postgraduate degree courses)
  • Nursing
  • Ayurveda
  • Homoeopathy
  • Unani
  • Naturopathy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Medical Laboratory Technology
  • Applied Nutrition (M.Sc.)

The degrees awarded by the university are recognized by professional statutory bodies, including the Medical Council of India, the Dental Council of India, the Central Council of Indian Medicine, the Central Council of Homoeopathy, and the Indian Nursing Council.